Less than two weeks!

Wondering where I’ve been? Perhaps the several days since my last post might lead you to believe that I’ve been getting ready for my upcoming adventure – and you would be right!

With only 13 shopping days between now and the first day of homeschool, I’m feeling mostly prepared. Next week I’ll take a 1/2 day and just loosely plan out the first two weeks. Everything I’ve heard and read suggests planning, but giving yourself some latitude when you first start out, because you aren’t sure exactly what the rhythm feels like, yet. 

We are going to focus on the “academics” in the morning and after lunch, we’ll do the P.E./art/field trip/cooking/library/foreign language type of activity. There are often times that Butterfly can’t stay seated after lunch (which is one of the the things for which she was consistently written up in mainstream school), so we might as well plan for things that allow for movement to give her every chance to actually engage learning, instead of spending all of her energy trying to stay seated. 

I’ve been attending an online homeschooling EXPO this week (http://schoolhouseexpo.com/) and it has helped me to organize some things, both mentally and physically. It was also good to be reminded that my daughter’s learning style and temperament are different than mine and that I need to adjust my teaching style for her. This is one of the areas that scared me away from even considering homeschooling in the first place, but I feel like I have some resources to help keep me from getting as frustrated as I might have previously been.

Well, I’m off to start working on some of the details and organization – starting with our wheeled “Art Bin” that has a plethora of art supplies that are needing a nice culling and straightening so we don’t spend out first day doing chores!

Your thoughts?

