Swimming along (Day 5)

Today, we started the Physical Education element of our home education program.

Luckily, we have a membership to the YMCA and we enjoyed swimming laps together for about 30 minutes before Butterfly started her first time at an afterschool program.

It is possible that you might have said to yourself just now, “wait, what?”

Yes, Butterfly is in the afterschool program at her sister’s school for a couple of reasons. One of them is that as we were driving around this weekend, Butterfly said very quietly from the backseat, “I need to be around more kids. I like some of the homeschool, but there isn’t enough kids to be around.”

When she speaks quietly, that’s actually her version of an impassioned plea. So, my husband and I agreed that she could go to the afterschool program for 2-3 days/week, which would give her 8-12 hours to play with other kids and socialize with peers (especially kids from her ethnic background) and would give me a few hours to breathe, plan, and oh, yeah, actually get stuff done. Because I had a silly idea that me being home meant I would have all this time on my hands to do the things that I hadn’t finished or gotten to or that needed to be done.

Guess what?

Turns out I’m a full-time teacher, administrator, nurse and principal – there is no downtime when the student is around.

So the swimming was great exercise for both of us AND I was able to get a few hours of my own.

I promptly took a nap.

Your thoughts?

